Francophone Africa


The Francophone Africa region was created in 2020 to reflect the vibrant work and growth of French speaking groups across the continent. At the 2018 ICMDA World Congress, 10 of the 12 new members welcomed at the event were French speaking groups, with eight of them located in Africa - these eight form the backbone of the region.

There is good collaboration and unity among groups with many joint ventures being undertaken and a young and enthusiastic leadership driving the work forward.

325 million people live in the region, with a quarter of them living in DR Congo, however there are just 50 medical schools serving the area, 23 of which are in DRC or Cameroon. With the exception of the smaller islands and Gabon, there are less than two doctors for every 10,000 people and far fewer dentists.

Many countries, particularly in West Africa have been Islamised, practicing an African brand of folk Islam and contain some of the most unreached people groups in the world for the gospel. There remain political and economic challenges for most countries.


Augustin Lutakwa

AEO for Sub-Saharan Africa

Jean Paul Dansou

Regional Secretary for French speaking Africa

Luc Mahougbé

Regional Representative for French speaking west Africa

John Musubao

Regional Representative for central & eastern French speaking Africa

H. David Sawadogo

Area Representative for western French speaking Africa

Osée Nkengurutse

Area Representative for eastern French speaking Africa

Simplice Tchoba

Area Representative for central French speaking Africa

Rebecca Biaye

Area Representative for North West French speaking Africa

Ouedraogo Solange

Francophone Africa board member


ICMDA members:

Benin (CMDA), Burkina Faso (AMDC), Burundi (BCMDA), DR Congo (AMC), Madagascar (CMDA), Mali (HAC), Niger (AMPCN), Togo (AMCT).

We have contact groups in:

Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Cote d'Ivoire, Gabon, Guinea Conakry, Senegal.

We are in contact with individuals in:

The Republic of Congo.

We do not currently have contact with:

Comoros, Mauritius, Mauritania, Mayotte, Reunion, Seychelles.