Sydenham Leadership Training

The Sydenham Leadership Training Track is a 10-part video series, originally designed by the UK Christian Medical Fellowship and later adapted for ICMDA by Dr Peter Saunders.

It aims to equip Christian doctors and dentists for ministry leadership and is an ideal foundation for ICMDA’s other training tracks as it gives a broad overview of issues at the interface of Christianity and medicine.

The course covers the following topics:

  • Principles of Leadership - 2 Timothy
  • Principles of Leadership – Nehemiah
  • Knowing the Bible
  • Medical Ethics
  • Growing in Discipleship
  • God and the Workplace
  • Healthcare Mission
  • Advocacy and Justice
  • Sharing Faith with Patients
  • Evangelism and Apologetics

The course is named after the physician Thomas Sydenham (1624-1689) who was an outstanding pioneer of clinical medicine and has been called ‘The Father of English Medicine’. He came from a Puritan family and was himself a man of deep Christian faith in the Puritan tradition.

Thomas Sydenham - Viquipèdia, l'enciclopèdia lliure

We run courses for 8 to 12 people at a time for ICMDA regions and language groups in English, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Russian and Arabic.

Each ten-week course is led by a small group of facilitators coached by the principal trainer Dr Peter Saunders.

The training track will involve weekly interactive Zoom sessions. Prior to each session trainees will need to watch that week’s training video, read a short booklet or article and undertake a short written assignment.

Trainees will need to set aside about three hours a week for this track (90 minutes virtual meeting, 30 minutes watching the training video, 30 minutes reading and 30 minutes writing assignment).

Watch this space for upcoming training opportunities.

English cohorts 1 & 2
(closed for applications)

1 September - 10 November
Wednesdays, 20:30 CEST (18:30 UTC+0)

Spanish cohort
(closed for applications)

24 September - 3 December
Fridays, 19:00 CST (UTC-6)

Portuguese cohort
(closed for applications)

25 September - 4 December
Saturdays, 15:00 BRT (UTC-3)

French cohort 1
(closed for applications)

21 September - 30 November
Tuesdays, 17:00 GMT (UTC+0)

French cohort 2
(closed for applications)

22 September - 1 December
Wednesdays, 18:00 GMT (UTC+0)

Arabic cohort
(closed for applications)

11 November - 27 January
Thursdays, 20:00 CET (UTC+1)

Share this page with others: